MtnMeister

In today’s episode, we’ll cover the relationship between people, land, and how we use the land. My guest is Len Necefer, a Professor with appointments in American Indian Studies and the Udall Center for Studies in Public Policy at the University of Arizona. Len’s newest film,  "Welcome to Gwichyaa Zhee" explores the impact of opening the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge to oil and gas development on the local Gwich’in people in Northern Alaska and Canada. Len is the founder of Natives Outdoors, an outdoor apparel company that supports indigenous people through cultural empowerment, and a board member of the Honnold Foundation, Alex Honnold’s foundation which supports solar energy initiatives to create a more equitable world. 

Our Company Spotlight is with Fisher + Baker, a seven-person men’s apparel company based out of Minneapolis. Fisher + Baker uses technical fabrics in casual menswear designs where you wouldn’t expect to find technical fabrics. I’ll interview Alexa Stodola and Maggie Maloy about the company, then Roommate Max and I will see if Fisher and Baker is as timeless, purposeful, and functional as they claim to be.

 

Episode Sponsors

SAXX Underwear: Use the code "meister" at checkout for $5 off and free shipping! https://www.saxxunderwear.com/

The Nomadik: Use code: "meister" for 20% OFF your first purchase at https://www.thenomadik.com/meister

 

Episode Links

Welcome to Gwichyaa Zhee - https://www.gwichyaazhee.us/

About Len - https://ais.arizona.edu/users/len-necefer

Natives Outdoors - https://www.natives-outdoors.org/

Honnold Foundation - http://www.honnoldfoundation.org/

Fisher + Baker - https://fisherandbaker.com

Direct download: len20necefer.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 6:28am EDT

Scott Johnston is the co-owner and head coach of Uphill Athlete, a specialized training platform that includes a couple of books, a website with a host of resources, training plans, stories, and articles, and personalized coaching for uphill athletes. On today’s show, we’ll talk about his newest book with Steve House and Kilian Jornet, Training for the New Alpinism: A Manual for Mountain Runners and Ski Mountaineers, where they set the record straight about what is known, unknown, and what works in endurance training. He’ll also provide some advice about how to get faster and go further.

 

Our Company Spotlight in this episode is with Reggie, a Canadian cycling apparel company that uses vibrant colors and designs in technical riding gear. I talk with Reggie's co-founders and siblings Laura and Jeff Wills about the company, then Hannah van Wetter and I review their Double Cross kit. Get 25% off at https://reggie.bike/ with the code "reggiemeister" at checkout.

 

Episode Sponsors

SAXX Underwear: Use the code "meister" at checkout for $5 off and free shipping! https://www.saxxunderwear.com/

The Nomadik: Use code: "meister" for 20% OFF your first purchase at https://www.thenomadik.com/meister

 

Episode Links

Uphill Athlete: https://www.uphillathlete.com/

Buy the book: https://www.amazon.com/Training-Uphill-Athlete-Mountain-Mountaineers/dp/1938340841

Training Peaks: https://www.trainingpeaks.com/

"Just Enough" Plan: https://bridgerridgerun.wordpress.com/2015/03/30/how-to-run-a-3-hour-marathon-a-just-enough-training-approach/

Direct download: 213Scott20Johnston2_mixdown.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 8:12am EDT

1